Back to all

EuroVelo 1 Partnership

Partnership for EuroVelo 1 – Atlantic Coast Route.

This Partnership (formerly called LTMA, long-term management agreement) aims to sustain the activities of the successful AtlanticOnBike Project and its extension, which officially ended in June 2023.

The Atlantic Coast Route follows Europe’s western border from Norway in the north to southern Spain passing through Ireland and France along the way. The development of cycling tourism will bring economic, social and environmental benefits to the local communities located on the route.

The EuroVelo 1 Partnership started in January 2021 and shall remain in force until 31 December 2023. The partners can agree on a 3-year extension after 2023. The first AtlanticOnBike Project finished at the end of 2020 and served as a foundation for this Partnership, which generated positive impacts on local economy by increasing visits, boosting local economy and creating new activities and new jobs in the tourism sector. It provided a new touristic offer accessible to a large range of the population, but also an attractive leisure destination for locals. The project also allowed to build common and transferable tools for a real European analysis of economic benefits.

Upon successful conclusion of the AtlanticOnBike original Project, the partners have agreed to continue with joint collaboration in order to develop the route on the transnational level further and will focus on a number of activities, including:

  • Route Infrastructure (e.g. Coordination of the itinerary on transnational level and organisation of an infrastructure working group on route infrastructure)
  • Public Transport (e.g. highlighting cross-border public transport information)
  • Services (e.g. support transnational network of SMEs)
  • Marketing and Communication
  • Usage monitoring and evaluation

The partners of the EuroVelo 1 Partnership are:

  • Norway – Norwegian Public Roads Administration (National EuroVelo Coordinator)
  • Ireland – Department for Transport (part of the National EuroVelo Coordination Centre)
  • France – La Vélodyssée (representing 3 Regions and 9 Departments)
  • Spain –
* ConBici (National EuroVelo Coordination Centre representing Extremadura, Navarra and La Rioja)
* Andalucía - Turismo y del Deporte de Andalucía, S.A.
  • European Cyclists' Federation (as Secretariat)

Picture: EuroVelo 1 - Atlantic Coast Route in Mayo County, Ireland